Honey, I shrunk!

May 6, 2013 at 7:22 pm (Uncategorized) (, )

I went to the doctor this morning for a physical and I was shocked to find that I had shrunk over an inch since the last time I was measured.

“Five eight-and-a-half,” said the nurse as I stepped off the scale, oblivious to my look of horror.

“Gravity’s a bitch,” shrugged my doctor, when I complained. (I love my doctor). “You have to start taking vitamin D and calcium. You’re still tall.”

But I’m not, not really. I’ve described myself as just under 5’10” since I unexpectedly grew two inches my first year at college. “That can’t happen,” said my 5’2″ mother at the time. “Five nine-and-three-quarters,” said the nurse at the doctor’s office.

I agonized over my height when I first shot up in high school, relegated to the back row in choir, towering over my friends in ballet class, cast as Charlemagne in Pippen. I would have gladly shrunk an inch then. “Laurie, come out from behind that Amazon,” said my ballet teacher. “Maybe try jazz,” said another, as I was well over six feet en pointe.

Something funny has happened since those long ago days. I started to like being tall. I could care less that I’m an inch or so taller than my husband. I wear heels as often as my wretched feet let me (thanks again, ballet). My oldest daughter, one of the shortest in her class, envies my height.

Be careful what you wish for. And I guess I’ll just buy higher heels.

4 Comments

  1. Jane Gillette Rogers said,

    Come over the to dark (short) side.

  2. Jane Gillette Rogers said,

    Or come over to the dark( short ) unable to write a sentence side.

  3. batsinthebelfry said,

    Well, after writing the above, I did some googling…and the highest number that I saw for average height (US female) is 5’5″. So maybe I am still tall-ish. And of course I am still taller than you. XOXO

  4. Beadgirl said,

    I stopped growing when I was in 6th grade. I can’t reach my own kitchen cabinets, and I once had a tall guy actually step on me because he couldn’t see me, so no sympathy here. :>

Leave a Reply

