Believing in Magic

November 1, 2012 at 1:57 pm (Faith, Kids) (, , , , )

Henry lost a tooth the other day. Wait, it gets better. Henry lost a tooth and the dog ate it.

Seriously.

Jessie the Destroyer

Henry thought his tooth was a crunchy piece of bagel, couldn’t chew it and fed it to the dog without looking at it. There are so many things wrong with that picture, I can’t even start. It does make a good story though.

With Riley, there would have been a lot more drama about “but what do I dooooooooo? how do I tell the tooth fairy I lost my tooth?” Henry’s a little more chill, and wasn’t too worried. In fact, when the tooth fairy forgot to put a buck under his pillow that night, Henry didn’t even notice because he’d forgotten to check.

And the tooth fairy wondered…is this my out? Are we done with this now? Because I have to confess, I’m a little over Santa, the tooth fairy and the Easter Bunny. It’s a fair amount of work to keep the magic alive, and Saint Tooth Bunny wonders if it’s worth it. The Tooth Fairy is plagued with forgetfulness when it comes to my house, I kinda resent Santa getting credit for all the Christmas gifts, and the Easter Bunny wonders what the hell chocolate peanut butter eggs have to do with the Resurrection.

I can’t remember believing in any of that stuff, the curse of being the youngest of five kids. My own kids are 9, 7 and 5, and no one has convinced them that those guys are made up yet…and here’s the reason I’m not pulling the plug yet either.

I like that they believe in miracles. I want to be somebody who believes in miracles too. I asked Henry what he thought the tooth fairy did with all of those teeth, and without hesitation, he told me that she made a castle with them. That’s beautiful. I like that they believe that Santa stops and gives gifts to every kid in the world…that to them, every kid in the world is equally loved and cherished. That’s how it should be, of course. That’s what we should aspire to. And the chocolate peanut butter eggs? They’re tasty. And the Passion is hard, so hard. Hard to hear even as an adult. The Resurrection is enough of a happy ending, none happier, but if we want to celebrate it with chocolates and bunny cakes, hey, I’m all for it.

Hurricane Sandy blew through this week and wreaked havoc on the lives of millions of people, hitting the US the same day that Jessie ate Henry’s tooth. If believing in things like the tooth fairy helps my kids handle living in a sometimes brutal world, I guess I’m not quite ready to fire her yet…and Santa Claus and the Easter Bunny are off the hook too.

Leave a Reply

