The Labyrinth

September 15, 2012 at 5:36 pm (Faith) (, , )

20120915-123418.jpg

I walked a labyrinth today, and it was maybe the best metaphor for faith, and for life really, that I’ve ever experienced.

I stepped in hesitantly, unsure whether I would “do it right.” It seemed so unlikely that those twisting paths would really lead me to the center, and I wondered if I should maybe hop one of them? Just take a little shortcut? There wasn’t any mystery about my destination, but the paths took me close to the center, and then wound away again. What if I had taken a wrong turn somehow?

But I kept putting one foot in the other, trusting that I would get there eventually. The sun warm on my shoulders, the grass prickly under my feet, I kept moving forward, one step at a time, full of peace and love and faith. When I finally arrived at the center, I knelt, my heart too full to be able to say any words of thanksgiving or prayer. I felt the earth solid beneath me and listened to the whispers of the wind in the changing leaves. With gratitude, I rose and walked back into the maze, content.

1 Comment

  1. Janet Hinz said,

    Nice!

Leave a Reply

