Mothers’ Wisdom

May 14, 2012 at 3:24 am (Kids) ()

In honor of Mother’s Day, which is almost over, here is a compilation of just some of the pearls of wisdom I have gleaned from various mothers over the years:

Said to her middle child: “You make me understand why some mothers eat their young!”

Said while watching kids at play at the park: “My fear is that we’re not tiring them out, they’re just building stamina.”

Said in sympathy to a mom fighting a virus: “They suck the life out of you when you’re healthy. When you’re sick…”

Said when being questioned on the sanity of adding a dog to their already full household: “For how much longer am I going to actually be able to make their dreams come true? I’m taking advantage of that while I can.”

Said to a surly teenager questioning her faith: “Plenty of people smarter than you believe in God.”

Said to her daughter the bride worrying about her appearance on her wedding day: “Oh, nobody’s looking at you. Well, actually today they probably are.”

Said to everyone, about every disappointment: “Rise to bleed again.”

For all the moms I’ve learned from, for the grandmothers I never knew, for the women who have been mothers to me in my life, for my mom: I’m so thankful for all of you. Happy Mother’s Day.

1 Comment

  1. jedelauche said,

    I know who “Rise to bleed again” came from! I’ve taken it as one of my mottoes, too. I also found out the original source of that philosophy. It is a paraphrase from The Ballad of Sir Andrew Barton (about British Admiral [privateer] Andrew Barton, d. 1511), a poem and song, also called St. Barton’s Ode (Child Ballad 167 – Andrew Bartin, stanza 65):

    “I am wounded but I am not slain. I will lay me down and bleed awhile and rise and fight again.”

    Source: http://www.bartleby.com/243/130.html

Leave a Reply

