Can somebody explain this to me please?

May 6, 2011 at 3:09 am (Faith, Politics) (, , , )

Bumper sticker

Huh?

Sorry, the picture is terrible because I was sneaking it while I walked past the line of cars picking up kids at school. The bumper sticker says: “Republican Bibles have only one verse: Luke 16:9.”

What am I missing? Here’s the passage referred to on the sticker.

I tell you, use worldly wealth to gain friends for yourselves, so that when it is gone, you will be welcomed into eternal dwellings.

I don’t understand either the bible verse or the bumper sticker. Do you?

2 Comments

  1. Jimmy Williams said,

    First of all that’s an incorrect representation of the Bible (I’m not saying by you-but the wording of the sticker.) The BIBLE says in Luke 16:9: “And I say unto you, make to yourselves friends of the mammon of unrighteousness; that, when ye fail, they may receive you into everlasting habitations.”
    If you will read the portion of scripture in Luke 16:1-12 using the Authorized King James Version of 1611 and reply to my email address (above), I will try to help you in your quest for understanding. (But I WOULD like to thank you for this question. I have read the Bible through several times, and I wasn’t very familiar with any of these 12 verses except number 10.)

  2. batsinthebelfry said,

    I would LOVE to read the King James version of the above verses. It is such a pleasure to read the King James version of anything – such poetry.

Leave a Reply

