Here we are again. Again.

March 8, 2011 at 10:17 pm (Faith) (, , , , )

So today is Fat Tuesday, which I am celebrating by trying to clean out my kitchen cupboards. We’re not exactly feasting, although I don’t know what Sam has on tap for dinner, but we are having all sorts of weird meals today, (snack was just crispbread and string cheese and raisins) as we try to get ready for our move this Saturday.

New House

New House

As you can see, our new house isn’t quite finished. As in, I was super excited to see the functioning toilet this past weekend, since I had started to think we were going to be using the Porta-Potty outside.

With all the craziness of a home renovation, a move, and the thousand other commitments on our books (i.e., life) it has been hard to think about God lately. (Sorry, God.) So once again, I’m grateful to the church calendar which will once again smack me in the head tomorrow, and remind me to work out my salvation a little bit more.

I’ve said before that I like Lent, and it occurs to me as I walk through the stripped down rooms of the new house that this Lent might be a particularly good one. I’m hopeful anyway. After all, Lent is a time to pare back the distractions and to make a little more room for God. Our new Spartan accommodations might facilitate that process a little bit.

Leave a Reply

