For Elizabeth Edwards

December 8, 2010 at 3:11 am (Uncategorized) (, , )

I met Elizabeth Edwards on a frigid January morning outside Brady Street Pharmacy in Milwaukee, WI in 2004. My mom and I had walked over from my folks’ condo a few blocks away, hoping to hear her husband’s stump speech in person, but we had gotten a late start thanks to an uncooperative one-year-old, and weren’t able to find a space inside to sit down.
I carried said one-year-old against my chest, resplendent in a peacock blue patterned snowsuit, wrapped around me in a sling, her face burrowed in my coat, out of the icy air. The three of us waited outside on the corner of Brady and Astor hoping to at least catch a glimpse of the candidate. I was thrilled to see Elizabeth get of the car. Even then I liked her better than her husband. I walked over, introduced myself and welcomed her to my hometown.
She was sensational…much more glamorous than print pictures would lead you to believe…smart, funny and warm. Oh she was so charismatic. In a better world, I think she would have been running for president rather than John.
We chatted about our children and the challenges of being a working mom. I can remember her toying with baby Riley’s little mittened hand. I can remember thinking she must be a human popsicle with no hat on in this weather, and either she’s not wearing one because she’s from the South and doesn’t know from cold, or because hats give you hat head and the pictures wouldn’t be so cute with hat head. For a few minutes on a freezing day she turned the full force of her warm personality on me and I became a fan for life.
I am terribly sad to learn of Elizabeth Edwards’ death today, but even as she herself reminded us yesterday, the days of all our lives are numbered. We must be grateful for those hours which are allotted to us, and by “the simple act of living with hope” make them more meaningful and precious.
I’ll leave you with words that could be her epitaph, words she herself wrote, that close her second book:

‎”I do know that when [my children] are older and telling their own children about their grandmother, they will be able to say that she stood in the storm, and when the wind did not blow her way –and it surely has not–she adjusted her sails.”

Eternal rest, grant unto Elizabeth Edwards, O Lord, and let perpetual light shine upon her. May her soul and the souls of all the faithful departed, through the Mercy of God, rest in peace. Amen.

3 Comments

  1. Threeby's Mom said,

    Well-put.

  2. Beadgirl said,

    She suffered so much; I’m glad she is at peace and I hope her children find some.

    • batsinthebelfry said,

      Oh so do I.

Leave a Reply

