The price of salvation

November 1, 2010 at 2:46 am (Faith) (, , )

So today’s gospel was the great story of Jesus and Zacchaeus, the tree-climbing tax collector, who repents of his sins when Jesus comes to his house, saying, “Behold, half of my possessions, Lord, I shall give to the poor, and if I have extorted anything from anyone I shall repay it four times over.” (somewhere in Luke 19. It’s late and I’ve eaten A LOT of Halloween candy today. Forgive me for the lousy citing). And then Jesus says salvation has come to Zacchaeus’s house.

That’s a pretty good scary story for Halloween. Is that the price of salvation? Is it adjusted for inflation? When was the last time you gave half of your possessions to the poor? Yeah, me neither.

1 Comment

  1. Threeby's Mom said,

    Do you think the tax collector would be the bad guy today, or did he have worse sins than tax collecting (showing my biblical ignorance here)? 🙂

Leave a Reply

