Perspective

February 18, 2010 at 2:20 am (Uncategorized)

At mass this morning, (packed! people love Ash Wednesday, I tell you) there was a young mom with a little baby, maybe 8-10 months or so, next to us in the pew.

She was a good little baby with two pigtails standing straight up on her head and I noticed she was playing with one of those dolls that military kids whose parents are overseas get…I can’t remember where I heard about them, but they’re made out of a camo material and there’s a plastic sleeve where the face should be, where you can put a photo of the mom or dad.

After mass, the mom thanked me for my help (what’d I do? pick up a toy or two?) and I said no, thanks to you, for your service to our country. Where’s your husband deployed? Iraq, she said. I patted her baby and said, you’ve got a brave daddy and a brave mommy.

And there it was, my lesson in perspective for the day. Regardless of how I feel about the Iraq war, here was a family who was making a huge sacrifice for their country. It just sort of put my petty problems in their proper place…and I was grateful for it.

1 Comment

  1. John J. Maurer said,

    Important thought. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

