The Perils of Catholic School

February 2, 2010 at 3:03 am (Uncategorized) (, , )

Last week my first-grader was in tears when I picked her up from school.

What’s wrong? What happened?

“I had an argument with my friends.”

I’m so sorry. Do you want to talk about it?

“Well, they wanted to get lollipops from Mr. M, but I said we had to go pick up our brothers from kindergarten. They wouldn’t listen and I got mad and stomped off.”

I’m sorry you had a disagreement. Thank you for being so responsible, but it would have been okay for you to get a lollipop too.

“But last week in religion class we talked about ‘wants’ and ‘needs’ and I tried to explain that they WANTED lollipops, but we NEEDED to go get our brothers.”

(Can you believe this kid? Ladies and gentlemen, be careful! Children will listen…and learn! Happy Catholic Schools week!)

PS. Did you catch the “Into the Woods” quote?

Leave a Reply

