Be it resolved…

January 4, 2010 at 7:56 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )

I’m not much of a one for New Year’s resolutions. I don’t know why. It’s a terrific idea, after all, to take stock and evaluate and try to make changes. Maybe I should resolve to make a resolution?

Anyway, I do have this New Year’s Day thing – maybe it’s a little superstitious…I like to spend the day doing things that I hope I’ll do throughout the year. We started off with a bang, well a splash really, as the five of us trekked over to the beach to watch Sam jump into Lake Michigan.

Polar bear plunge

Polar bear plunge

Later, my mother questioned whether he was having his mid-life crisis, but I was so inspired! It was so brave! and crazy! I hope to be bold this year too.

Afterwards we spent a really fun time with my parents. Then we went ice skating. I went to the gym. We had dinner with friends and hung out playing guitar and singing. Nothing life-changing, but everything very life-affirming.

So no, no “stop procrastinating” or “eat healthier” or “be more patient” for me this year, although those would all be fine goals. Instead I’m hoping for a year of family and friends and music and fun, with maybe a little craziness thrown in.

I hope your New Years are off to a good start too.

Leave a Reply

