Think pink!

December 13, 2009 at 10:14 am (Uncategorized) (, , )

Today is Gaudete Sunday, the third Sunday of Advent and if the happy pink candle and the priest’s Barbie-pink chasuble didn’t clue you in, we are supposed to be rejoicing, dagnabbit!

Henry's play dough Advent wreath

Henry's play dough Advent wreath

I have awfully fond feelings about Gaudete Sunday…In fact, I made my first communion the third Sunday of Advent, lo these many years ago (although I didn’t get to wear the fancy white dress and the veil…my mom bought me a green velour pantsuit with a sprig of holly pin, which was very cute and seasonal, but I am STILL bummed about not getting the fancy white dress etc…) And of course when I was a kid, there was a certain amount of jockeying between my sister and myself to be the one to light the pink candle.

We went to mass yesterday evening, since Riley was singing in the children’s choir. I loved Father Jerry’s explanation for our rejoicing today…it’s simple math! For the first time during Advent, there are more candles lit than unlit. Light is winning, darkness is beaten back.

It’s the season for festivals of light, I guess. In my Jatholic household we celebrated Hanukkah Friday night with friends, latkes and basil gimlets. OH! and I spotted this amazing car on my way to Winkie’s to get gelt. It’s a rotten picture, but check out the menorah on top. I have never been much of a one for wearing your faith on your sleeve, but on your vehicle? Spectacular.

Hanukkah car

Hanukkah car

Anyway, back to mass…the readings for today are fanTAStic. The first is from Zephaniah, 3:14-18a:

Shout for joy, daughter of Zion, Israel, shout aloud! Rejoice, exult with all your heart, daughter of Jerusalem! Yahweh has repealed your sentence; he has turned your enemy away. Yahweh is king among you, Israel, you have nothing more to fear. When that Day comes, the message for Jerusalem will be: Zion, have no fear, do not let your hands fall limp. Yahweh your God is there with you, the warrior-Saviour. He will rejoice over you with happy song, he will renew you by his love, he will dance with shouts of joy for you, as on a day of festival. I have taken away your misfortune, no longer need you bear the disgrace of it.

Dance, sing, shout, rejoice, exult, happy, festival…my mood is lifting a little for some reason!

The second is none too shabby either. From Paul’s letter to the Philippians, 4:4-7:

Always be joyful, then, in the Lord; I repeat, be joyful. Let your good sense be obvious to everybody. The Lord is near. Never worry about anything; but tell God all your desires of every kind in prayer and petition shot through with gratitude, and the peace of God which is beyond our understanding will guard your hearts and your thoughts in Christ Jesus.

I need that fourth sentence tattooed on my brain, I think. How lovely.

Things get a little heavier with the gospel reading, which is from Luke, 3:10-18:

When all the people asked him, ‘What must we do, then?’ he answered, ‘Anyone who has two tunics must share with the one who has none, and anyone with something to eat must do the same.’
There were tax collectors, too, who came for baptism, and these said to him, ‘Master, what must we do?’ He said to them, ‘Exact no more than the appointed rate.’
Some soldiers asked him in their turn, ‘What about us? What must we do?’ He said to them, ‘No intimidation! No extortion! Be content with your pay!’
A feeling of expectancy had grown among the people, who were beginning to wonder whether John might be the Christ, so John declared before them all, ‘I baptise you with water, but someone is coming, who is more powerful than me, and I am not fit to undo the strap of his sandals; he will baptise you with the Holy Spirit and fire. His winnowing-fan is in his hand, to clear his threshing-floor and to gather the wheat into his barn; but the chaff he will burn in a fire that will never go out.’
And he proclaimed the good news to the people with many other exhortations too.

Wait, but this is the season of getting stuff! Who wants to give away her extra cloak! Who is content with his pay? Then again, I really want to be the wheat, not the chaff. Maybe I do need to go through the coat closet, both the literal, overstuffed coat closet, and also the spiritual (also overstuffed) coat closet. I’d love to get rid of the anxiety, doubt and darkness that is bogging me down…not to mention some of the fashion misfires gathering dust on the hanger.

Happy Hanukkah friends, and happy rejoicing! Enjoy the light.

2 Comments

  1. Pauli Price said,

    I don’t see a contact form, so I’ll ask here in the comments. I’d like to use the photo of Henry’s Advent wreath on my website. I’ll link back to your page, if you’ll permit it.

    Thanks!

    • batsinthebelfry said,

      Oh for sure! I wish it were a better quality pic – it’s just a cruddy phone picture. Contact form, that’s a good idea, thanks!

Leave a Reply

