The communion of saints

November 3, 2009 at 4:03 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )

When we say the Creed at Mass, that is, when we profess our faith, we Catholics say, among other things, that we believe in the “communion of saints.”

I have to tell you that I haven’t ever thought too much about what that means. I guess this is one of the problems with being a cradle Catholic…it’s just something I’ve been saying as long as I remember. However, today was the big day…St Monica School is celebrating All Saints day. The first graders dressed up as saints, including an especially adorable St. Rose of Lima, and marched into church, and I have that phrase stuck in my head.

The communion of saints

The communion of saints

So being the good librarian’s daughter that I am, I looked it up. The Catechism of the Catholic Church is online at the Holy See’s website, God bless ’em, and Part One, Section Two, Chapter Three, Article 9, Paragraph 5 appears to be what I’m looking for. (Do you think there are some lawyers over there? Just a guess.) And right there we have it. “The communion of saints is the Church.” I don’t have to just long to be in that number, I already AM in that number. By virtue of my belief in the Eucharist, I am joined to all of the holy men and women, living and dead, working for God’s kingdom.

Which is awfully good to know after a day like yesterday when I wasn’t too saintly. It’s good to know that on day like yesterday when I just could not carry the load, someone else is pitching in to help.

At children’s liturgy this past Sunday my friend Joanne defined a saint as a person who does ordinary things in an extraordinary way, and she told the kids that they all had the potential within them to be saints. I found it incredibly moving. I do mostly find children’s liturgy to be incredibly moving, it’s true, but this hit home to me…and it’s going to help me get through the week. Peace, friends.

2 Comments

  1. becomingdoctorjones said,

    I always get a little thrill when I hear that phrase, Thanks for sharing this!

  2. Amy said,

    I never knew that. Thanks for doing the research! Sam must be learning about saints right now because tonight, when we gave some food to a homeless man, he told me that since I did something kind for others, I was going to be a saint. If only it were that easy, but I guess we’ve all got to start somewhere.

Leave a Reply

