What a treat…

November 1, 2009 at 2:08 pm (Uncategorized)

I was feeling a little bit like a Halloween Grinch, but that was probably due to the fact that I had been working on the kids’ costumes up until the eleventh hour. Still, it explains a little bit why, as we got ready to go trick or treating, I wondered to myself why I was encouraging my children, especially my two-year-old, to walk up to strange doors and solicit candy. Nevertheless, as we walked from house to house in my neighborhood, I got the answer. And NO, it was not so I could steal all my children’s Reeses Peanut Butter Cups, although that is certainly a bonus.

Halloween, frozen tundra style

Halloween frozen tundra style

As Sam and I watched the kids walk up to the doors, say “Trick or treat,” get compliments on their costumes, say “Thank you,” and walk back to us, I realized that Halloween is actually a terrific lesson in community building not to mention the exercise of basic etiquette and social skills. And my kids got it, even the two year old. She started saying, “Twick oh tweat” at the end of each sidewalk, repeating it every other second until she got to the door and accepted the candy and compliments, then finished up by saying “tank you.” I was so proud and felt so lucky to live where I do, with the family that I have…Halloween Grinch begone!

2 Comments

  1. Kay said,

    Hey, did you get a DOG?! Cute costumes on the kids, BTW. 🙂

    I just love that all our neighbors know (my) Henry and enjoy seeing him. It’s so nice that he has that continuity in his life.

  2. batsinthebelfry said,

    Nope, more’s the pity. We’re dogsitting.

Leave a Reply

