Fear of flying

September 2, 2009 at 4:13 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )

We went to the Renaissance Fair on Saturday. Not really my thing, but the kids had fun and it was kind of cute. (That may not be the effect that all some of those guys are going for, but there you go). While we were wandering the parking lot looking for our van, I noticed a large bumper sticker that said, “Nothing Fails Like Prayer.”

Wow.

I mean, geez, how mean, for one thing, and for another, how do YOU know?!

I’m not trying to be all evangelize-y on you – another thing that’s not my thing – but I believe in prayer…Let me give you an example.

I remember a flight that Sam and I took quite a while back…For whatever reason we couldn’t land, and we had to circle the airport for well over an hour. As I recall, the pilot announced that we’d have to land pretty soon, as we only had X amount of fuel left. And there was turbulence, did I mention that? Oh, and probably a bird strike too. Anyway, it was my worst flying moment, which isn’t saying a lot since I’m not a great flyer, but regardless, it was very scary. So I prayed. And because my mind was too busy to come up with its own words, I prayed the “Our Father” over and over and over again…until finally, the words “Thy kingdom come, thy will be done” calmed me down.

I wish I could convey to you the power of that moment. Maybe any old meditation would have done the same thing, but what’s the difference? I’m a Catholic and on that day, in that situation, that’s what worked.

Leave a Reply

