First Day of School

September 1, 2009 at 4:03 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )

I’ve been in denial about this day all summer long. D-day. Riley’s first day of first grade and Henry’s first day of kindergarten.

And here they are (that tiny yellow blur way up ahead is Henry):

First Day

First Day

This picture kills me, because this is kind of my view from here on out, isn’t it? Our kids striding off into the future, away from Sam and me. Which hurts some, if I’m totally honest. Okay, a lot. But the thing is, that’s what we’re supposed to do: raise these children to be confident and happy, ready for the adventures of their lives.

I’ll be all right. I’m really so happy for them and proud of them. Just pass the tissues, will you?

Leave a Reply

