The opposite of love…

August 26, 2009 at 1:21 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )

According to Elie Wiesel, the opposite of love is not hate, it’s indifference. He goes on to say that
“[t]he opposite of art is not ugliness, it’s indifference. The opposite of faith is not heresy, it’s indifference. And the opposite of life is not death, it’s indifference.” (Remember citing things? me neither).

I’ve been going through a dry spell…a sojourn in the desert if you will. Appropriate for summer, I guess. On Sunday, the priest in Camden said that we weren’t tourists, we were pilgrims. Tourists have maps, while pilgrims have faith. But the problem is this: I’m an excellent map-reader, and I’m not so strong on the faith side.

Don’t get me wrong – my religion has been an exceedingly important part of my identity, and of the way I live my life. Personally, I think “do unto others as you would have done unto you” is a pretty decent rule to live by, regardless of whether you believe in Jesus or God or any of it. And even in the driest of dry spells, the hour’s peace that attending weekly mass provides has brought me great comfort.

Nevertheless, I wouldn’t describe myself as faith-filled at the moment. It might be because of what I’m doing – it’s hard to feel holy while cleaning baby poop out of the bathtub, or it might be that I’m not working hard enough at it.

Which is why I like that Wiesel quote. It’s a good reminder that for most of us, the danger isn’t that we wake up sadists one day…the danger is that we wake up not caring.

Leave a Reply

