Every day I write the book…

August 24, 2009 at 3:50 pm (Uncategorized)

…although not the blog, unfortunately.  Ah well.

We’re back from our annual whirlwind tour of the East Coast, and despite the mosquitos (vicious vampires), the heat (insane – I wouldn’t mind if I were never in 90 degree heat ever again) and the in-laws, (KIDDING!) a splendid time was had by all.

In addition to seeing family and friends, sailing and swimming, it was also fun to go to mass at a different church.  In Lincoln, MA, Riley and I biked down to St. Joseph’s (and I do mean down, leaving me with a sense of foreboding throughout the liturgy).

St. Joseph's, Lincoln

St. Joseph's, Lincoln

In Camden, ME, we went to Our Lady of Good Hope (and I did take a picture, which must have gotten replaced with Spin Art on the interminable trip home…) The priest only gave a short homily, as there was a missionary appeal, but what he said stuck with me.  Shortly after he was ordained, a parishioner asked him if he ever questioned his decision to become a priest.  Like all good philosophers, he answered with another question, asking the man if he ever questioned his decision to get married.  Every day, the man answered.  And every day I make the same choice.  Me too, answered the priest.

That’s helpful to me – to recognize that with things that are hard, like, let’s face it, marriage, you question it, and then recommit yourself to it every single day.  A nice little thing to have learned on summer vacation.

And, then just because I stole the title, here’s the song, which has nothing to do with anything, but is a great song, AND as an extra special added bonus, the clip is from Solid Gold!!!!!!!! I am NOT LYING!!!!

Elvis! on Solid Gold! Does it get better than that?

2 Comments

  1. gill0270 said,

    I was stoked about the link when I thought it was Elvis Presley.

  2. batsinthebelfry said,

    Whoops! Sorry about that. In my house it isn’t Presley who’s king…

Leave a Reply

