Bread of life

August 5, 2009 at 11:18 pm (Uncategorized)

I was a little distracted during mass on Sunday.  I found out right before that my mom had just been admitted to the hospital with pneumonia.  I am sorry to tell you that after I heard the news my first reaction was “wow, I really don’t want to go to [expletive] church.”  I fumed all of the way there, in between calling various siblings, and nearly causing several serious car accidents.

But something happened after I opened the door.  I walked in, and I felt better.  No lie!  I signed my mom’s name in the book of intentions that is right inside the door, dipped my hand in the baptismal font and crossed myself, and I seriously felt lighter.  Don’t get me wrong, I was still freaked out and stressed beyond belief, but just being in a church, The church, my church, calmed me down.

And it only got better.  I’m not going to pretend that I was able to pay perfect attention to what was going on (there was also a microphone mishap, dammit, not to mention starting the fourth verse of the recessional at the wrong time, whoops!) but I did get that it was a very “Eucharist-y” day.  The first reading was the Israelites waking up to manna in the desert, Psalm was more of the same, can’t remember the second reading (sorry Paul!)  and the Gospel was Jesus telling the apostles that He is the Bread of Life.

Well, I’m not a complete numskull.  I did in fact get the message!  Far from being completely incapacitated by my mother’s illness, I could perform a very important and useful task, one I could only have achieved by going to Mass that morning.  After a very jaunty organ postlude, I sought out the sacristan and asked if I could take communion to my mom.  He gave me a dubious look and asked if I knew the communion rite (the what now?) but nevertheless briskly walked over to the Blessed Sacrament chapel, genuflected and placed the Host in a nifty little box.

As soon as my dad and I got to the hospital, I told my mom that I had communion for her if she wanted to receive it.  One “Body of Christ” and one “Amen” later, that was that.  Not bad for a day’s work and a heckuva lot better than I had thought it was going to be.

1 Comment

  1. New Mama said,

    I hope your mom is doing better.

Leave a Reply

