Bad

July 7, 2009 at 2:06 pm (Uncategorized)

Okay, I’m going to admit that I felt shocked the day that Michael Jackson (what’s this MJ nonsense? I thought that was Michael Jordan, anyway…) died. I felt sad for him. Such a huge talent, such a troubled (and possibly much worse) man. Also, and this is selfish, I felt old. He was probably the biggest star of my youth, and he’s dead. Man, fifty just doesn’t seem that old anymore.

But.

Enough already. Let his family, the ones with actual reason to, grieve his death in private. The public isn’t grieving – it’s being entertained. It’s incredibly disturbing, if not surprising, that his death is being sensationalized in the same way that his life was.

Secondly, there’s been some sort of Michael Jackson-related headline in the newspaper every day since he died, or at least it feels that way. Let me tell you some of the things hidden on the inside pages today: bomb in the Philippines, ethnic violence in China, worst day of fighting in a year in Afghanistan…you see my point here? And I’m not a television news-watcher…I suspect the disparity is even more obvious there.

Leave a Reply

