Protect us from all anxiety…

June 3, 2009 at 3:29 am (Uncategorized)

This parenting thing is FRAUGHT with pitfalls, I tell you. My six-year-old is having a lot of “scary thoughts” lately. She’s worried about tornados, hurricanes, fires, volcanos, and earthquakes, among other natural disasters. (She was terrified to learn that we had a layover in Kansas on the way to LA…”but there are TORNADOS in Kansas!!!!” Of course my contrary nature wanted to say, “well, what about the earthquakes, wildfires, and mudslides in LA?” Luckily, I refrained.)
Her fears strike at any time, but are the worst at night right before bed, of course. She’s a wreck, poor thing.
We visited the pediatrician this morning for our four-year-old’s annual check-up, and I suggested that we ask Dr. Sarah if she had any thoughts about Riley’s anxieties. “Oooh, GOOD idea, Mommy!” Splendid Dr. Sarah indeed had some terrific suggestions: 1) make sure that Riley knows what to do in the event of an emergency. We did a dry run of a 911 phone call this evening. It was a great exercise, except for the weeping mother. “Good ACTING, Mommy!” 2) have Riley keep a journal. On one page she can write, or draw a picture of her fear. On the facing page, she can draw a hope. So this evening, she drew a picture of a tornado (with a sad face next to it) and opposite that a picture of her outside playing in the sunshine (happy face!) 3) Sarah’s last suggestion was one that she uses with her own son. Before bed, say a prayer to your guardian angel. Fantastic, and totally in the “but why didn’t I think of that?” category…A quick google on my iPhone turned up a plethora of options, so as I tucked Riley into bed, we said this prayer together:

Angel of God, my Guardian dear,
To whom God’s love commits me here,
Ever this night be at my side
To light and guard, to rule and guide.

Amen.

Yup, parenting is TOTALLY fraught with pitfalls. Luckily, I feel like I’ve got a couple of aces in the hole. One is our spectacular pediatrician. The other is, well, you know. Sweet dreams, girlie.

2 Comments

  1. New Mama said,

    Totally need to get the name of your pediatrician from you.

  2. Jenna said,

    I now have had a taste of parenting–a whole year!–and I am starting to finally understand why people fall so hopelessly in love with their children! Being a Mom has freed me…in a way that I never experienced before. Loving Oliver has taught me #1) There ARE miracles! #2) I am one of those! #3) I have never felt happier and more satisfied in my life as I do being a Mom.
    I never knew I was special…until one day I went to Oliver’s crib to calm his crying and he saw me, smiled, and started pursing his lips, hungry for food. At that moment I knew how special I was…not only because I am his Mommy and am able to comfort him…but because at one time I was a baby. I was a precious, vulnerable, innocent, and needy infant. I deserved all the love that I am today able to give to Oliver. At times I am still saddened that I was neglected…but in a way I am able to both parent Oliver, and myself, so that I can move forward! Oliver has helped to free me 🙂 Do children always do things like this for us??? Oh, I can’t even imagine all trhe joy to come still!!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

