Recharging…

May 17, 2009 at 6:06 pm (Uncategorized)

Back when I worked at the court, there was a judge famous for his, um, grumpiness. Yes, let’s say “grumpiness.” Imagine my surprise when I learned that he attended mass daily before arriving at the courthouse. When I expressed my shock, I mean, surprise, my source just laughed and said, “Well, imagine what he’d be like if he DIDN’T go to mass every day.”
Throughout my life there have been people who have been shocked how crucial it is to me to keep my weekly obligation to attend mass. Either it didn’t fit their image of me, or they couldn’t see what the big deal was…who knows? But attending mass at least once a week is vitally important to me, and has been for as long as I can remember. Even when I was in college and, um, distracted – yes, let’s say “distracted” – that weekly hour in church gave me some space and some time and some breathing room from the rest of my life.
And now? Geez, I’d be rotten if I didn’t go to mass. Seriously. It’s as if the good part of me is a battery that slowly dies out during the week, but that hour at mass charges my battery up again. Thank God! Otherwise imagine me!

Leave a Reply

