Kind of blue…

May 5, 2009 at 4:42 pm (Uncategorized)

I’m melancholy today…I think it’s a combination of things: the weather, for one. I’m thinking of requesting that the name of the season be changed, at least here in southeastern Wisconsin. “Crawl.” Whaddya think? There’s just nothing “springing” outside. In fact, my heat would be going on if I weren’t so stubborn that I’d already turned it off for the season. It’s days like today when I really, really miss living in DC. Sigh.

In addition, I found out yesterday that an old friend died suddenly this past week. A young-ish guy too, in his 40s I suppose. A really talented guy, who did a lot to make the world more beautiful. And I’m just flat-out sad about it.

There are some other things I’m feeling anxious about too…nothing major, just little everyday worries. I’ve always been a worrier, and I’m afraid that at least my two oldest children have acquired that gene as well. When the presider says “protect us from all anxiety” during the liturgy, my prayers are always particularly heartfelt. And then I wonder why I don’t trust God more…what about the sparrow? I’m just supposed to have a little more faith. I mean, spring WILL come eventually…it might be June, but it will get here.

Rest in peace, Bill. This is for you:

In paradisum

Leave a Reply

