Divine Mercy Sunday

April 20, 2009 at 3:11 am (Uncategorized)

That’s what today was, Divine Mercy Sunday, in case you didn’t know…And what is Divine Mercy Sunday you ask? It’s the feast celebrated the Sunday after Easter, in which we should be remembering St. Faustina and her revelation of Jesus as a fount of mercy and love and compassion…

Anyway, the readings today are pretty challenging my friends. The gospel is the “doubting Thomas” story. (Poor old Thomas…history’s most famous skeptic. And really, is his reaction any different from what anyone’s would have been? Although I guess I’m not going to feel too sorry for him. He is a saint after all) The one that gets me today though is the first reading…from the Acts of the Apostles. You’d better just take a look:

Acts 4:32-35

The community of believers was of one heart and mind,
and no one claimed that any of his possessions was his own,
but they had everything in common.
With great power the apostles bore witness
to the resurrection of the Lord Jesus,
and great favor was accorded them all.
There was no needy person among them,
for those who owned property or houses would sell them,
bring the proceeds of the sale,
and put them at the feet of the apostles,
and they were distributed to each according to need.

Do you read that the way I do? Holy crap! Because I don’t know about you, (although I’ve got a guess…) but that’s just not how I’m living…(And why is the Beatles’ Revolution now pounding in my head?) I’ve got to say, this is one of those all-too-frequent instances where I hear the Word and my pathetic reaction is, “Um, nope. No can do. ‘They’ must not really mean it. Too hard.” Thank goodness for that Divine Mercy…but I still think I, and by “I,” I so totally mean “we,” ought to be trying a little harder.

Leave a Reply

