Good Friday

April 10, 2009 at 1:38 pm (Uncategorized)

Our last responsiblity last night was to sing as we processed with the Holy Eucharist out of the church, to sing as the Arch and the bevy of priests (there ought to be a collective noun for priests – a prayer of priests?) prayed in the atrium, and finally to sing as they left. And there, as they all filed out, we sang, “Stay with me…remain here with me…watch and pray. Watch and pray,” the words that Jesus used in the Garden of Gethsemane as he exhorted his disciples to keep him company as he prayed before his ordeal. Well, you know how that turned out…and as we too abandoned Christ present in the Eucharist, walking out of the atrium, I fell apart. I sobbed. I could not sing. I think every year, in my foolish, human, sentimental way, I wish there could be a different ending to this story.
Every time my six-year-old mentions The Passion, she says “that sad story…but there’s a happy ending!”
Well, today is not actually a day where I want to think about the happy ending. I want to be sad and sorry…sorry for the sin in the world, sorry for the suffering, sorry for how wretched human beings can be to one another.

Leave a Reply

