April 4, 2009

April 4, 2009 at 4:33 am (Uncategorized)

For the past two years, the Cathedral has published a book of daily reflections for Lent, and for the past two years I have been asked to write one of the reflections, which I consider to be a great honor, except for the night before it’s due when I’m sweating the actual writing. Anyway, Sam suggested that I post this year’s effort, so here you go:

April 4, 2009
Ez 37:21-28/ Jer 31:10.11-12abdc.13/ Jn 11:45-56

My dwelling shall be with them; I will be their God, and they shall be my people.
Ez 37: 27.

What comfort Ezekiel’s words must have given his listeners! He spoke from captivity in Babylon. The Jews had seen their kingdom divided, and then lost. The proud days of David and Solomon must have seemed a very long time ago. How easy it would have been to despair…to feel abandoned by God.
But Ezekiel exhorts his audience to hold steady, to have faith, to believe in God’s power and goodness to deliver them from any obstacle, no matter how great. In their darkest hour – their slavery – this is the message the Lord gives to them: I will always, always be with you.
And take a look at those words again. God doesn’t say, “I will have great sympathy for what you’re going through as I observe it from My heavenly throne…” Oh no…He says “I will live WITH you. I will be right there. I have got your back.”
That promise is fulfilled beyond our wildest imaginings in Jesus.
What a perfect message for Lent! What a comforting message, what a crucial message to hear as we head into Holy Week, with its stories of doubt and betrayal and agony. We don’t go through it alone. In fact, we don’t ever go through anything alone. We are God’s people. He is with us…and always will be.

What is enslaving us this Lent? What is causing us to despair, to feel abandoned?
Do our actions this Lent demonstrate that we are people of God, that God is with us?

1 Comment

  1. Michaela said,

    Beautiful Emma….just beautiful.

Leave a Reply

