A Break from Brouhahas

April 2, 2009 at 5:11 pm (Uncategorized)

So we’ve been going with the “Emma-sings-with-the-choir-Dad-sits-with-Riley-at-church” option lately. (Although I don’t know what we’re going to do as far as Palm Sunday and Easter Sunday go. I’m already committed to singing, and those are long masses, not to mention quite difficult. My dad is still willing to sit with Riley, but I feel like that’s unloading a big responsibility onto him. Maybe this is an occasion when it would be better to have Sam take everyone down the street so Riley can attend the children’s liturgy…oh for pete’s sake, this is NOT what I came in here to talk about.)
Anyway.
Last Sunday was a big day. We had regular mass in the morning and then we stayed for The Arch’s farewell mass in the afternoon. (Kind of hilarious – Archbishop Dolan’s Farewell Tour! But sweet, too.) Dad sat with Miss Riley, and evidently they brought up the gifts! I say “evidently” because I was so involved in what we were singing I didn’t even notice. Great Mom moment, no? Riley didn’t mention it to me, which surprised me. And then Dad asked me how much I talked to her about religion, which I sort of defensively, and probably mistakenly, took to mean “have you explained to your child what transubstantiation is?”
The answer is no. How do I explain something to a six-year-old that my close Protestant friends, even my Jewish husband, seem to refer to with a wink and a nudge? How do I say it’s not a symbol, or a myth, or a fairy tale, but maybe the truest thing that ever was? How do I tell her that I don’t know how it happens, or what it means, other than when I receive communion, I am getting something that I desperately need and can’t get anywhere else?
Hmmm, maybe I do have a few ideas actually.

Leave a Reply

