Boycott Brouhaha

March 29, 2009 at 2:06 pm (Uncategorized)

Bishop to skip Notre Dame graduation in protest of President Obama’s stem cell and abortion views 

I haven’t talked politics too much here…not at all, actually. That’s not unusual for me these days. My world feels a lot narrower than it used to. The not-so-sad truth is that I’m just more interested in my son’s eighteenth strep throat of the season than the goings-on of the wider world.
However, occasionally the wider world rudely intrudes. And I’ve got to say that here we’ve got an example of the kind of thing that drives me bananas about well, not the Church, but members of it.  

It’s nothing new, of course.  I remember during the 2004 campaign then-Bishop-Burke of LaCrosse declaring that he would refuse John Kerry communion because of his stance on abortion.  That outraged me so much that I wrote a letter to the Catholic Herald, and I don’t feel any differently now.

There are a couple of different issues, as I see it.  For one, the office of the President deserves some respect, regardless of how you feel about the occupant, and no, my opinion on that doesn’t change with each election cycle.

Secondly, as a Notre Dame alum pointed out to me on Friday, the raison d’etre of a university is to present different points of view and stimulate debate and reasoned discourse.

Thirdly and most pertinent to this blog, why do Catholics pick and choose which aspects of the culture of life are the most important?  Does Bishop D’Arcy take the same stance with politicians who are war-mongers?  with politicians who are pro-death penalty?  with politicians who oppose providing basic social services to the poorest among us?  Oof, I’m getting all hot under the collar and I’ve got to go to mass in an hour.  More on this later.  A lot more.

2 Comments

  1. New Mama said,

    Thank you for bringing up this point. This is something I just can’t get on board with as far as Catholicism goes. I’m not pro-abortion — I think abortion is a terrible thing, but I also don’t think it’s such a cut-and-dry issue that outlawing it will make things all better — but I hate hate HATE it when people vote on the basis of this issue alone. I know a lot of people who voted for McCain because of this and it makes NO sense to me. I like hearing about how real live Catholics deal with these issues.

    • batsinthebelfry said,

      There isn’t anyone in office who holds all my views on every thing…I would have to run for office for that to happen. (Hmmm…) So, like most people, I do the best I can with what I’ve got on the ballot…I think the only way I could be a single issue voter would be if the candidates agreed on everything else.

Leave a Reply

