Why Worry?

March 23, 2009 at 1:59 am (Uncategorized)

This is a little bit of a departure, but as has been well documented, the Lord works in mysterious ways.  My six-year-old has been having a tough couple of days.  She’s been sad and anxious and just really feeling rotten.  Garrison Keillor was singing this on the radio when I turned the car on after church this morning, and it was so perfect, so beautiful, that I had a hard time not bursting into tears as I listened.  Needless to say, I’ve been singing it to Riley all day.  (Who wrote this song anyway?  Mark Knopfler?)

Baby I see this world has made you sad 
Some people can be bad 
The things they do, the things they say 
But baby I’ll wipe away those bitter tears 
I’ll chase away those restless fears 
That turn your blue skies into grey 
Why worry, there should be laughter after the pain 
There should be sunshine after rain 
These things have always been the same 
So why worry now 
Baby when I get down I turn to you 
And you make sense of what I do 
I know it isn’t hard to say 
But baby just when this world seems mean and cold 
Our love comes shining red and gold 
And all the rest is by the way 
Why worry, there should be laughter after pain 
There should be sunshine after rain 
These things have always been the same 
So why worry now

2 Comments

  1. Mike Miller said,

    Yep, Dire Straits’ _Brothers in Arms_ album, if I’m not mistaken. (For whatever reason, that was like the official album of Germany when I was there. Guess that’s better than Deutschland, Deutschland. . .never mind!)

  2. batsinthebelfry said,

    Thanks, Mike. Sort of how Ace of Bass makes me think of my year in Madrid? Yikes.

Leave a Reply

