Lost and found

March 17, 2009 at 9:10 pm (Uncategorized)

I was sitting at the kitchen counter with the baby when my husband called. Lucy had just spit out a mouthful of chicken quesadilla and we were both happily munching tortilla chips. “I’ve lost Riley,” my husband said. “What?” I must have asked three or four times. I literally could not process those words in that sequence. “Is this a joke?” I asked.
It’s a story of miscommunication and an innocent mistake, and my eldest daughter is safe in the backyard, drawing chalk masterpieces with her brother, while their baby sister is at the counter spitting out water. Life is cyclical like that, I guess. But for five or ten minutes, however long it took me to finally understand the incomprehensible and reach my daughter’s school, I was that mom. The one on TV or the newspaper, anguished, wracked with grief, inconsolable.
And I prayed. I prayed hard. It wasn’t elegant or high-falutin’, but it was fervent. “Jesus, Jesus, please Jesus, please Jesus,” and then “Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you.”

Thank you.

2 Comments

  1. wonker said,

    Interesting blog, I’ll try and spread the word.

    • batsinthebelfry said,

      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

